For Companies
Sign in / Sign up
Add a businesses My Businesses My Reviews My Favourites Search Paying Only Latest activity Log out
Add a Business Sign in / Sign Up

Lighthouse Inspections

2359 Royal Windsor Drive, 12, Mississauga, ON
28 reviews
Business claimed Last updated: Over a year ago
About Lighthouse Inspections

Professional Home Inspection Services. With Lighthouse, you're all covered. We provide peace of mind when you are making a difficult decision. Lighthouse Inspections makes complex information simple and clear. Go to full description...

2359 Royal Windsor Drive, 12
Mississauga, ON, L5J 4S9, CA

Contact information

Images and videos (9)

Lighthouse Inspections , Mississauga Reviews (28)

4.1
28 reviews
5 Star
22
4 Star
0
3 Star
0
2 Star
1
1 Star
5
By non-member104676 on Dec 16, 2015
November 2015 Freehold Inspection - Beamsville
Ernie makes you feel like he's got your back. Explains everything and walks you through every little detail. You can tell he loves his job and his service is fantastic because of it. Im a new home owner now I have a Lighthouse Inspection binder with litterally everything in it. From every single detail check out, suggestions, FYIs to thing all the way to things to keep an eye on. Even contains great information and to do checklists to keep an eye on as specific to each season. Ive read the other reviews below and thats the same guy i got today. Full recomendation id give this guy his own show on HGTV.
By triple84u on Nov 08, 2015
November 2015 Year End Tarion Home Inspection
Called Ernie @ Lighthouse to do my 1st year end Tarion inspection today and an Angel showed up instead! Had an inspection done by Ernie for a client previously so without hesitation I called him up for my own house. Due to scheduling conflicts, Ernie made arrangements for Tim Palmer to replace him. No disrespect to Ernie and the amazing work he does. But unfortunately I have to leave a review for Tim. Like I mentioned above, the Angel showed up and as he was examining the exterior, it started to rain wet snow. This is after a week of above normal temps. Poor thing (I mean Tim)! We made our way into the warmth of inside and boy did I make Tim regret taking Ernie's appointment. Lol. Seriously! Tim was so thorough, explaining things I didn't know and answering everything I asked him. Now I can submit my year end report to Tarion with soooo much confidence that my house was in good hands. Thank you Tim! And thank you Ernie!

Love Kim : )
By non-member94064 on Nov 04, 2015
97 Laclie street Orillia
Your an ass Brian Shaw. Insulation can b mixed or compatible with each other. My floors r supported and will not move. The house is 100 years old , things sag at that age. I have been building for 35 frigin years. I know my stuff. So thanks for causing the lost sale of another house. Retire!!!!!!!!!
By non-member91285 on Aug 31, 2015
House inspection
We had two house inspections done by Michael Tita and we were very satisfied. Michael was very punctual, courteous and knowledgeable.
The houses were inspected from top to bottom and Michael guided us through the various issues needing attention.
We would recommend Michael to anyone in need of a house inspection. It was worth the money.
Thank you Michael.
By non-member91241 on Aug 30, 2015
October 2011 Home Inspection, Paris, Ontario
The inspector's report did not identify a problem with bats in the attic, nor the poor condition of the roof shingles. Costs for replacing the roof and removing bats were substantial. Had I known about these problems in 2011, I would have negotiated a lower purchase price for the house. As it is, I had to spend an additional $5000 + to deal with the problems in 2015. I would not use Lighthouse Inspections in the future.
By non-member90193 on Jun 30, 2015
Should be the standard for house inspections
I have used a house inspector for the sale of two homes . The first time I used Pillar to Post, absolutely not worth the money, not very knowledgeable and totally unprofessional . The inspector told the buyers that there was a problem with the mixing valve on the shower in the basement and that it would be several thousand of dollars to fix as the whole bath surround would have to be removed and replaced to fix the loose mixing valve, it took me 20sec to fix the problem, 2 screws on the mixing valve flange plate needed to be tightened. Yesterday I had the pleasure of using Lighthouse Inspections, the inspector was very knowledgeable and professional, did a very through inspections and fully explained any issues that it found. Lighthouse inspections should be the standard for house inspections, the other companies need to learn from them. Fantastic service
By vmallari on Feb 05, 2015
Excellent Service & Thorough Inspection
We required a home inspection of a 4,100 square foot home (including the finished basement) within short notice. Michael came through for us and despite the time constraint, he conducted a thorough inspection of the entire house. We were able to manage the time constraint all due to him. He walked us through his report, highlighting those issues that were most important to address with the sellers and those issues we could resolve on our own once we moved in. The few major issues he discovered with the house, we were able to resolve with the sellers and negotiate off the asking price. In addition, the report he provided us was highly organized and extremely user-friendly. In comparison with inspections I have had past experiences with, Michael supersedes. I will definitely be recommending him and Lighthouse to any one in need of a home inspection. Thank you, Michael. - Grant & Veronica
By Fiona on Jan 28, 2015
Thorough and Informative:


As a second time home buyer, we used Micheal from Lighthouse to do both our inspections. He was on time, very thorough and patient in answering all our questions. He also made honest recommendations through out the process. We used him twice and we would not hesitate to use him again and the price was reasonable as well. Thanks Micheal for a really good experience. Walter and Fiona, Brampton, ON
By deanf00 on Jan 23, 2015
Do not touch this guy - Ralph Schade
Ralph came in to inspect our home before purchase. He talks a good talk and seems knowledgeable. The main area I wanted an opinion on was the roof and Ralph immediately said he could not get up on the roof as per guidelines but would take pictures and let us know. He said the roof was fine and might need to be replaced two or three years down the road.
Genius Ralph gets back to us and said the pictures (he took) were not clear but he still thinks things were OK. After we bought the home we contacted three roofers who all said the roof needed to be replaced immediately. So much for home inspection. Don't touch this guy with a lighthouse...er ten foot pole.

I see now that Ralph has come up with what he fondly considers to be a rebuttal. Ralph please get your facts straight. You clearly indicated that while older the roof was not end of life. We customers are better serviced by qualified individuals. This is just a buyer beware. I can share and will share the report in social media sites.
Comment by lighthouseinspectionskw on Jan 28, 2015
Every critique deserves a rebuttal. Here's mine to DeanF00:
Please note that the Report indicates (reference page 4) that the Roof on this property was older and that there were several specific conditions that led to our recommendation that you have a roofing contractor review and make appropriate repairs. Specifically, we advised that the valleys and several areas of the roof were deteriorated, as well as excessive moss and/or mold on the roof. Both conditions are a significant area of concern and were circled to highlight the notes.
As inspectors, we often require specific contractors attend at and make recommendations on timing and repairs, which was the case here. We recommended a course of action to have a roofer review and repair as needed.
Furthermore on page 3: the following recommendation is clearly stated
Defects noted in the Roofing section must be addressed and resolved in a timely manner by a licensed roofing contractor. In many cases, these conditions can lead to premature leaking and/or failure of the component which can cause damage to interior components and finishes.

Comment by deanf00 on Jan 29, 2015
I have your report which clearly strikes out end of life and marks older roof. I will share this with everyone as well as the Better Business Bureau. I have already contacted my lawyer and you will be hearing from me. Your work begs the question. What protection does an inspector provide. Worst spend of 500 dollars I ever made. Overall I will be asking Lighthouse e question as well and have raised this to my realtor who recommended your services in the first place. I recommend you get better training as your 30 years of experience as you claim has not helped us at all
Comment by deanf00 on Jan 29, 2015
You advised that the valleys needed repair and that the roof was older but clearly struck out end of life. This roof was clearly end of life. The vendor repaired the valleys but the roofer told us the roof was end of life and repairing the valleys was akin to bailing the Titanic with a bucket. Excellent assessment there.
We consulted two more roofers who said the same.
What bothered me was you even told us that the pictures YOU took were blurry. I will be talking to Lighthouse parent company. I question both the attention to detail as well as client commitment in this regard. This is not over I promise you
By kmcshane on Dec 18, 2014
WETT not certified
As a condition on the purchase of our home this past summer, we included the requirement the wood stove be WETT certified. We received the paperwork from the seller in which Lighthouse inspector Brian Shaw indicated the wood stove was in proper working order. This fall we had a chimney sweep clean the wood stove so we could begin using it and were shocked when he informed us it was IN NO WAY SAFE TO USE. It is missing baffles and half of the brick on the inside. The chimney sweep said there is absolutely no way an inspector could have missed this if they even opened the door of the wood stove. We have never owned a wood stove and unfortunately were relying on the expertise and honesty of the inspector. My husband contacted Brian Shaw and, amidst a slew of unprofessional and aggressive comments, was told it isn’t his problem and that if there was a problem with the wood stove we should have contacted him sooner. I guess there is an expiration date on his professional integrity? We then contacted Lighthouse and have been waiting weeks for a response. The dishonesty of this inspector has left us in a home without proper heat this winter. We have two rooms on the upper level with electric baseboard, but it’s not enough. And now we’re on the hook for the purchase of a new wood stove. Brian Shaw: admit you falsified the certification! In the meantime, I will be telling every person I know this story so they don’t get scammed by this company. **The attached photo is of the missing firewall brick.** PS - I had to put one star because it wouldn't let me post it with none. Interesting.
Comment by brshaw on Dec 19, 2014
I inspected a woodstove in May for a seller at which time I certified the clearances as safe.
Late one evening in Nov., I got an agitated phone call. Amid a slew of insults, I tried to explain the limitations of a visual only inspection. The
report was based on the clearances of the stove and condition of the chimney on the day of the inspection. After repeatedly being called a liar and accused of being dishonest, I was unable to explain the limitations of a Level 1, Site Basic WETT inspection.
The WETT sanctioned report does not include door gaskets, baffles, firebrick or dampers.
Please do your research before posting defamatory comments on social media sites.
Comment by kmcshane on Dec 19, 2014
And I still haven't heard from Lighthouse. Posting on my review isn't the professional response I'm looking for.
Comment by kmcshane on Dec 19, 2014
http://www.wettinc.ca/LevelsofInspectionChart.pdf

I argue you didn't do your job. See the above.
Comment by kmcshane on Dec 19, 2014
How can it be compliant if we can't even use it?
By non-member90192 on Oct 31, 2014
Knowledgeable... But not satisfied
Joe Roberto was referred to me by my real estate agent. I found him knowledgeable and thorough and he knew his stuff for sure. Having said that, sometimes during the inspection I also got the impression as if he did not want to spoil the sale... probably because he was referred by my agent. I don't know perhaps it was only my feeling. Also, he charged me $435 whereas my agent said he would charge $375 plus tax which should have been $423.75. A few days after the home inspection, I called him to ask a couple of inspection related questions but I did not find him much helpful on the phone. I don't think I'll hire his services again in the future... even though he looked like a knowledgeable inspector. Note to self; hire home inspectors who have been tried and tested by reliable friends and family if you want to be completely satisfied... and not the ones who are brought in by your real estate agent.
By non-member90191 on Oct 15, 2014
First Time Buyer - Michael Tita - Awesome experience
As a first time home buyer, we were a little anxious about our inspection. Michael took us through the whole house and encouraged us to ask questions. He explained all his findings in detail and answered any additional questions we had. He was completely thorough and offered advice/tips on some of the findings. I was completey satisfied with the service and inspection and would recommend Michael and Lighthouse Inspetions to all new and existing buyers.
We bought the house ! Thanks so much Lighthouse Inspections!!
By jboucher on Jul 21, 2014
His Inspection cost us the Sale
All the testimonials are very positive but why not also include the one's not so positive. The results of John Jaggers inspection cost us the sell of the home. He has been proven wrong on several different points that, in his opinion needed addresses. He needs to do a more thorough testing when claiming mould is present. There is a difference between mould and the discolouration of wood. More time should have been taken. He needs to determine the difference between a hole in the foundation and a crack. A couple of minor things he mentioned were valid but the main ones that cost us the sale means he should have done a more thorough examination & testing to determine fact.
Julie Makins-Boucher
Comment by LighthouseHI on Jul 22, 2014
Julie, we are disappointed to hear you feel this way about the inspection and its results. Should I assume from your review that you were selling the home we inspected? If so, and we were brought in by a potential purchaser, we are highly restricted by both privacy laws and our Contract with our clients from discussing the specific findings without a waiver. In a general sense, however, we do not inspect for mould, but we may recommend that people have the home tested when we find staining or other concerns with the home. It is then up to clients to determine what they will do with that information.

If, however, it was you that hired Lighthouse and were unsatisfied with the extent or accuracy of our findings, we would be more than happy to clarify and discuss matters with you further. Please email me with the address and date of the inspection so we can have Mr. Jaggers review his files and respond. We can be reached at info@lighthouseinspections.com
Jeannie Oropesa
By non-member76729 on Jul 10, 2014
First time home buyer!
We had such a great experience with Tim. He was able to work around our schedule to get into the house to do the inspection. The inspection report was detailed and easy to read. He even gave us recommendations on how to help keep up the condition of the house. Thank you, Tim!!
By non-member76730 on May 16, 2014
Lighthouse Home Inspections - Ernie Mallozzi
Ernie inspected my daughters condo last night and we were so impressed by him. He is as nice in person as he is on the phone, completely knowledgeable and professional. You will know within minutes of his arrival that you are in good hands. During the months of researching homes and dealing with many different individuals, some great and some...not so much, it was a very welcome relief to know that this critical part of buying a home, the inspection, was being conducted by someone who knew his job and delivered on all of the claims on his website. I rarely go on line to review a person or service but knowing how hard it is to choose a person based on a website I wanted to put a word in for Ernie.
Load More

Additional business details

Email address: jeannie@lighthouseinspections.com
Payment methods accepted: cash, visa, mastercard, discover, personal cheques
Professional Home and Infrared Inspection Services This is all we do. At Lighthouse all of our inspectors are committed to home inspection and your needs.

We know that buying a home is one of the most important investments you will ever make. We provide peace of mind with our straightforward approach. We help you understand technical details by simplifying complex information.

We have more than 16 years of experience and have completed over 32,000 home inspections using the most progressive technology available. Our knowledge is expertly applied to all of your home systems and then detailed through our comprehensive, accurate reports.

We guide you through unexpected problems by helping you to prepare and plan. We will reduce your stress by advising you of the required repairs, solutions and the associated costs, from an objective, third-party perspective.

We work with you to make you feel comfortable, while educating you about your home. Whether you are buying or selling, we will show you both the positive and negative aspects of the property. We take the time to investigate every nook and cranny and treat your home as if it were our own.

We will commit to offer with every inspection: Quality Service Commi

write a review
contact business
905-822-7889
Business website
Related businesses
Address and directions
Contact information
Photos and videos
Customer reviews
Additional information